Bolzano

Bolzano

Village of Uberbozen  - a funicular ride from Bolzano

Village of Uberbozen – a funicular ride from Bolzano

Well, it was bound to happen, I suppose.  I left my camera on the train in Bologna today.  And I am really upset!  This trip has been going so well,  so I am wondering if I can be positive that it will be returned to me.  Otherwise, we will be looking for a new camera!  What is really upsetting is the fact that I had some great pictures on there from the snow-capped area of Bolzano.  We heard about this place from another couple we met on our boat ride.  It is the most northern Italian town and the richest in Ital.  yBolzano’s inhabitants belong to three groups — 70 percent Italians, 26 percent German and a small percentage of Ladins, people who speak a dialect of Romansh. It has a decided Tyrolean atmosphere, wedged in the foot of the jagged Dolomite Mountains. The Rosengarten Mountain, one of the best-known in the Dolomites, can be seen from the town centre. It’s hard to believe you are in Italy as the area is typically Austrian with chalet-style houses, farms, medieval castles, onion-domed churches and plenty of schnitzel. Bolzano was actually won from Austria during WWI.  You hear both German and Italian being spoken and street names are in both languages. Cuisine is a mix of two influences — Viennese tarts and Austrian rye bread are sold next to Italian olive oils and pasta. There are over 300 hectares of grapevines within the city limits.  Bolzano’s oldest resident is Otzi the Ice Man. The 5300-year-old mummified man was found protruding from a glacier in 1991 and is displayed in an igloo-like case of ice tiles. He is the star of the South Tyrol Museum of Archaeology.  I actually got a forbidden picture of him.  When we arrived, by train, we immediately took a funicular ride over the hills up to a village called Oberbozen.  Even though the temperatures were unseasonably warm (40’s)  there was a lot of snow on the ground.  It was absolutely beautiful.  If I ever get my camera back I will have to edit this blog.  It was just sunset as we came back down to Bolzano.  The Christmas market was being dismantled and people were out at the after-Christmas sales.  Quite a busy little town.  we stopped to eat dinner at a 800 year old house turned tavern which makes its own brews and had some traditional beer dumplings!  Perfect!  We then went to our hotels wellness center for a much needed sauna and Jacuzzi.  This morning we went through the main cathedral before going over to see the star of Bolzano – Otzi the Ice Man.  It was sehr interessant, molto interessante, very interesting.  See how multi-ligual I have become?  We then caught an afternoon train back to Florence via Bologna where I left my camera!  Check out information on the iceman at www.iceman.it

