In front of the Louvre

In front of the Louvre

We became familiar with the Paris Metro today.  I think the London tubes are more efficient though, but the metro got the job done.  We spent the whole day at the Louvre finishing about 6:00 pm.  It was very overwhelming!  Too much of everything – including people.  We opted not to do the audio -mainly because I did not want something else hanging around my neck.  It might have been a mistake though.  There was very little explanation in English.  It was frustrating.  We took a little break for a late lunch in one of their cafe’s with a nice view.  It was nice to sit and rest and watch the people. The Louvre, in its successive architectural metamorphoses, has dominated central Paris since the late 12th century. Built on the city’s western edge, the original structure was gradually engulfed as the city grew. The dark fortress of the early days was transformed into the modernized dwelling of François I and, later, the sumptuous palace of the Sun King, Louis XIV. Part of the Louvre included some of the history of the original structure on the bottom floor but completely explained in French so it was pretty much a waste of time for other language speakers.  We were really surprised that a museum which draws international visitors did not have any other interpretations.  You always knew when you were coming up to a great and famous work of art – the crowds surrounding it!  People were jostling to the front to take a picture of their wife -then – the husband – with the picture.  Very irritating if you were wanting a good look at the painting/statue.  It was raining when we went in but clearing up as we left.  I have been wanting to visit the Louvre again since I last visited in the 70’s so this was a great birthday present for me today!

 

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 003

Just inside the Louvre

Just inside the Louvre

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 005

Botticelli

Botticelli

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 007 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 008

Boticelli

Botticelli

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 010

Crowds!

Crowds!

Da Vinci

De Vinci

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 013

Da Vinci

De Vinci

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 015

Da vinci

De Vinci

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 017

The crowd in front of the Monna Lisa.  They would stay if front forever and take pictures of each other!

The crowd in front of the Mona Lisa. They would stay if front forever and take pictures of each other!

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 019 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 020 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 021 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 022 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 023

The ceilings were so beautiful

The ceilings were so beautiful

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 025

Caravaggio - one of my favorite artists

Caravaggio – one of my favorite artists

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 027 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 028 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 029 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 030 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 031 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 032 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 033 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 034 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 035 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 036 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 037 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 038 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 039 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 041

Just being goofy

Just being goofy

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 044

My birthday lunch in the Louvre cafe

My birthday lunch in the Louvre cafe

View from lunch

View from lunch

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 047

I promised to take pictures of our food for some people - you know who you are!

I promised to take pictures of our food for some people – you know who you are!

My birthday cake -notice the pyramid cake

My birthday cake -notice the pyramid cake

Michaelangelo

Michelangelo

Michaelangelo

Michelangelo

Michaelangelo

Michelangelo

I love sculptures!

I love sculptures!

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 054 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 056

Venus de Milo

Venus de Milo

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 058 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 059 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 060 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 061 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 062 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 065

Napoleon's throne

Napoleon’s throne

Napoleon's Apartments

Napoleon’s Apartments

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 069 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 071 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 072 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 073

View from Napoleon's apt.

View from Napoleon’s apt.

View from Napoleon's apt. Arch de Triumphe

View from Napoleon’s apt. Arch de Triumphe

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 076

Chandelier

Chandelier

Such opulence! No wonder there was a revolution!

Such opulence! No wonder there was a revolution!

Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 079 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 080 Paris day 2 - the Louvre (and my birthday) 081

Looking up from directly under a chandelier

Looking up from directly under a chandelier

Having a glass of wine at a local spot.  That's me in the pink.

Having a glass of wine at a local spot. That’s me in the pink.